Friday, April 29, 2016

2016 NaPoWriMo Poem #29: I Do Not Believe

I do not believe in science.
It is not a deity
to which obeisance is owed
or in which faith is demanded,
nor a mystical force
working miracles
beyond ever understanding.

I trust in science
the way I trust a friend
(or coworker
to be more accurate)
whose behavior makes sense
and who I think has good reason
for acting as they do
even if I wonder
if sometimes
they maybe drink
a bit too much.

Thursday, April 28, 2016

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

2016 NaPoWriMo Poem #27: Going Under

Cryo isn't so bad.
That's what I hear
from the vets.
"Only way to fly"
they say.
It's literally true
when going
to Alpha Cen
or even Iapetus.

But still I wonder
what will I miss
and what world
will I wake up to?

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

2016 NaPoWriMo Poem #26: The Next Expedition

Some of the men
watched the sun
sink into the
long-awaited ocean,
but she preferred
to look at the sky,
as befitting her name.

York joined her
and motioned
at the stars,
fixed and wandering.

“How long,
do you reckon,
it’ll be before they
send an expedition

She shrugged.
“However long it may be,
they won’t get there
without us, either.”

Monday, April 25, 2016

2016 NaPoWriMo Poem #25: Rec Room

There is no glamor
in this aspect of the job.
We spend our days
checking and rechecking
seals and gauges,
buried deep enough
to keep all the letters
of the Greek alphabet at bay.

We don’t play golf,
we don’t plant potatoes.
We use a high-tech xbox
to drive a rover where
we could never go
to prove that
humans are indispensible.

But I’ll let you in
on a secret.

We have a room
the size of the galley
filled knee-deep
in regolith.
on break
we strip down,
put on heat lamps,
and pretend we’re on
the world’s tiniest beach
(or another world’s, anyhow)
and run our fingers and toes
through the sand.

Sunday, April 24, 2016

2016 NaPoWriMo Poem #24: Re-entry

Begun with a
single step perhaps,
it will end with reports
and paperwork,
reimbursement requests
and digging out.
This re-entry
will have no
fiery dramatics
nor parades to follow,
nor medals to bestow—
only a sense of
increased gravity
and coming back to Earth.

Saturday, April 23, 2016

2016 NaPoWriMo Poem #23: To Be With You Again

When can I next be with you?
We were always
You, the brightest star
in the skies,
and I the only one
to really get through to you.

I cannot deny
I’m still reeling from
the break up.
I’ve made moves
toward others,
but they’ve
utterly failed.
And I’m not blind
to others edging
closer to you,
with a
string of proposals,
one of which
will someday win.

But I can’t help but
feel we are
meant to share
a future.
I want to be with you again.